NYC Bound

This time tomorrow I will be on my way to New York City! I love NYC. Here are a few reasons why I ♥ NY…

There is a lot of great magic and magic shops in the city. Hopefully (if you are reading this) you know I love magic.

You never run out of free things to do. Libraries, some museum exhibits, niche stores, street performances, parks and street events, site seeing, and even going to  TV shows are all examples of free things that happen every day in NYC.

I love historical towns, great stories, old architecture, and grand cathedrals and churches. NYC has them all.

I could go on and on. There is something about the beautiful skyscrapers, millions of diverse people, and the continuous buzz of energy that makes me see the power of God. Its not until you stand in the middle of over a million people and look around you that you realize how insignificant to the world you are. Then you open your Bible and read that God knows the number of hairs on your head and you realize just how significant to God you are.

I will be doing just that this weekend. I plan on going to NYC and just walking around. I will be taking my Bible, a book I have been wanting to read, a deck of cards, and maybe a few coins and just spending time with God. I do have a couple things in mind for while I’m up there, but mostly it will be just time to watch and listen.

Here are the few things I will probably do while I’m up there…

Visit Fantasma, Tannens, and Abracadabra (3 magic shops in the city)

Walk across the Brooklyn Bridge. I have never done this, but always wanted to.

Go to a mass at St. Patricks or St Johns Devine. No, I’m not Catholic, but I love the beautiful tradition and cathedrals.

I read about an museum that is celebrating 400 years of the King James Bible so I might check that out.

Other than that, I have nothing planned. I can’t wait to see where God takes me this weekend.

 

About mikedavenport

Mike Davenport: I live in Charlotte, NC. I am studying to follow my calling into The Ministry of Jesus Christ. I am not exactly sure where God is calling me, but I am listening. I am married to my beautiful wife Jesalyn and we are about to have our first child.

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Viewpoint. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

