A Saturday Final Exam!?!?

Really, a final exam on a Saturday morning? What is this world coming to? I am preparing, or should I say procrastinating. I only have two exams this semester, but I am counting the minutes until I am done. There are a couple reasons why I want my class to be over and my grade to be posted. Here is why:

1. I have 4 things occupying my time right now (not including family life and other day to day regular activities) and I need a break from one for at least a week or two so I can focus a little better.

2. I need my grade to post so I can attempt to register for Intro to Org Comm. This class is only offered in the early summer semester and if I can get into it I will only have two semesters left to complete my degree. If I cannot get into this class I will have three semesters left. The class is currently full and I am praying that I can somehow slide into a vacant slot and there is only about 10 days from when my grade posts to when the class will start. Its crazy to think that an entire semester of my life is based on this 10 day window.

3. Exams are an added stress that I do not need. I normally don’t stress about classes and grades, but I will admit that I have been slacking off toward the end of this semester (when it comes to school). My grades have been so good that I haven’t felt a need to put as much time and effort into class. I don’t even know if I can mess up enough on either final to pull me out of the B range, but I have been so used to getting As that I feel like one of those kids I used to hate. You know, the one that cried the first time they got a B on something. I used to hate those kids and now I have become one. I know I will be ok and the tests will be fine, but just being a little ill-prepared adds to the stress factor.

All that to ask this…

Please pray for me over the next week. I am becoming impatient with school. Mostly because there are so many things (priorities) in my life that I am ready to dive into 100%. Its like I’m standing on the starting line to a race. I want the gun to fire so I can take off and give it everything I have, but I also know I haven’t trained myself fully. I know I need to back off the starting line and continue training so that my 100% will get me much further in the race. I know I need to finish my degree to be most effective in life, but it is also keeping me from the priorities, passions, and missions that I want to give my life to.

I know I will finish school in God’s time, but I am praying that God’s time is a semester early.

About mikedavenport

Mike Davenport: I live in Charlotte, NC. I am studying to follow my calling into The Ministry of Jesus Christ. I am not exactly sure where God is calling me, but I am listening. I am married to my beautiful wife Jesalyn and we are about to have our first child.

Posted on May 6, 2011, in Viewpoint and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

