Getting Inspired

I often get drug down by life. My creativity becomes stale as to-do list becomes heavy. Is this common? Does creativity and expression take a back seat in your life? I can’t force it. I can’t count the number of times I have wanted to write and I sit down down to a blank screen with a broken keyboard.

So I have to inspire myself and these are some of the ways I do it…

Read the words of Jesus and David. Not just reading the Bible, but something about the red words inspire me. The poems of David also speak to me in a, “wow, this guys thinks just like me” kinda way. But the words of Jesus inspire me to think outside myself.

Watch a good magic routine. A good routine will have a couple moments of impossibility. I seldom get a moment like that from a single magic trick, but a well structured routine doesn’t give you time to contemplate the impossibility before it hits you with another moment of mystery. These moments inspire me to live magically and achieve impossible things.

Youtube. This one is simple. I have wasted a lot of time on Youtube, but its also a great place to find inspiration. I watch clips of debates, sermons, documentaries, and tons of priceless content. Its so easy to get side tracked when on Youtube, but once in a while you will find a gem of inspiration. Like this one…

Spend time with inspiring people. I learn so much in conversation and community. The intelligence of some people inspires me. The passion of some people inspire me. The ignorance of other people inspire me. The ambition of some people inspire me. Some people just inspire. It isn’t always agreeing with someone or understanding them. It is being around them. It feeding off them. It is listening to them. It is arguing with them. It is praying with them. It is them.

Those are some of the things that inspire me. What inspires you?

About mikedavenport

Mike Davenport: I live in Charlotte, NC. I am studying to follow my calling into The Ministry of Jesus Christ. I am not exactly sure where God is calling me, but I am listening. I am married to my beautiful wife Jesalyn and we are about to have our first child.

Posted on April 7, 2011, in Viewpoint and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

