Settlin’ Down

The last couple years of our life have been crazy to say the least. A quick rundown: somewhere around 8 jobs, 3 churches (4 small groups), and 4 places to live. Family and friends have overwhelmed us with drama and insanity (an understatement). I guess you could say we were learning to not expect anything. How have we gotten to this point? It all started a couple years ago when I was dreaming of living in NYC.  Somehow we got from there to here. I’m back in school and living on an acre of land in suburban Charlotte. Not quite Manhattan, but it is a plan to take us in that direction. A smarter alternative to giving it all up and risking everything to follow my passion. I guess you could say its a 5 year plan with options.

I have never been so satisfied about where I am in life. I’ve been comfortable before; I’ve been excited before; I’ve even been happy, but never quite as content with all the pieces of my life. For the first time in my life I am satisfied. Satisfied with exactly where I am at; satisfied with where my wife is at; satisfied with our jobs, our house, our goals, and our uncertainty.

Where will we be a year from now? I have no idea. I have a goal, a plan, a dream, but not a clue. All I know is I can’t wait to find out. We are here and that’s fine. I guess this is the first time I can say I would be happy in the same house, with these same jobs, and the same family two years from now. That says it all.

About mikedavenport

Mike Davenport: I live in Charlotte, NC. I am studying to follow my calling into The Ministry of Jesus Christ. I am not exactly sure where God is calling me, but I am listening. I am married to my beautiful wife Jesalyn and we are about to have our first child.

Posted on May 29, 2010, in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. *To be content* is a virtue.

Leave a Reply

