Affluenza

First, watch this video. Its hilarious.

This past Sunday at Journey, Will finished up the first three week set of our 9 week series on how to ruin your life. The first three weeks was on “How to ruin your financial life”. He talked about what the Bible says about spending and giving.

He used a term to describe how American’s (especially us in the Lake Norman area) have been lost in their blessings. We suffer from “affleunza”. We have been blessed beyond comprehension. We struggle with the battle that materialism and over-consumption wages against God.

You cannot serve two masters…

Money is not evil, but just like all other possessions it competes with God for your heart. Who will win your heart?

“… Again I tell you, it is easier for a rope/camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the Kingdom of Heaven.” Matthew 19:24

Who do you serve?

About mikedavenport

Mike Davenport: I live in Charlotte, NC. I am studying to follow my calling into The Ministry of Jesus Christ. I am not exactly sure where God is calling me, but I am listening. I am married to my beautiful wife Jesalyn and we are about to have our first child.

Posted on February 8, 2010, in Viewpoint and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

