Are Your Religious? (Part 2)

Proverbs 10:19 The more talk, the less truth; the wise measure their words.

Words have such an impact. When spoken with passion and truth, they can create or destroy relationship, mend or break hearts, and change the world forever.

“I have a dream!”

“We the people…”

“Yes we can!”

Proverbs 10:14 The wise accumulate knowledge—a true treasure; know-it-alls talk too much—a sheer waste.

What’s your favorite food?      Why?

Did you answer the “why” in less than 3 sentences? Probably. When we are sure about something we don’t need to defend our answer. We are confident and secure in our answer.

Are you Religious?     Why?

DEFENDING YOUR FAITH!

Why do we feel we need to defend our faith? Its your faith, just as spaghetti is your favorite food. Be confident and secure in your answer.

1 Peter 3:15 Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.

Bill Hybels (Just Walk Across The Room) brings up the point to keep your reason short.

1.Before

2.Christ

3.After

3 Sentences or less. What were you like before Christ? How have you changed?

I used to Defend my faith when asked why I believe. Now I share my faith.

I was shy and reserved, I met Christ and now I love out loud, out spoken, and without reserve!

THAT’S IT!

Be prepared and practice. When someone asks you, “Are you Religious?” feel confident. We all are, right? We are all born with a desire to worship and believe. No one can argue with your story. No one can disprove your testimony. Its your story. Its Truth. Don’t defend your faith, share it. After all, who wouldn’t want Christ?

About mikedavenport

Mike Davenport: I live in Charlotte, NC. I am studying to follow my calling into The Ministry of Jesus Christ. I am not exactly sure where God is calling me, but I am listening. I am married to my beautiful wife Jesalyn and we are about to have our first child.

Posted on May 6, 2009, in Jesus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

